“Thistle” While You Work

20170709_160208

I was walking out around our deck, looking for inspiration for today’s photo. I kept being drawn back to a weed, not the beautiful aloe plants, or cacti. No, it was this cluster of thistle that I kept coming back to.

A backyard full of gorgeous plants, and a weed catches my eye. Was it because it’s a weed, and in my mind, it doesn’t belong. Or is it the fact that even a weed can be beautiful.

I think it speaks to me that even in a world full of beautiful people, there are those of us who feel more akin to the weed. Unwanted, and destined to be cast out of the garden.

Yet the thistle,  like so many other weeds, performs a service in that it has medicinal uses. It makes me wonder how you see yourself. As a beautiful flower. Or are you a weed? Let me know your thoughts in the comments.

Leave a Reply

